Steps of the catering cycle

Food Safety Supervisor TrainingIn this series, we will explore the nature of the food cycle and how food safety supervisors must monitor each stage in the process, to ensure food remains safe for consumers.

All foods are perishable, although some products will expire sooner than others.  Even though food storage facilities such as refrigerators, cold rooms and controlled-air store rooms can extend and preserve the shelf life of food, most produce is purchased fresh and cooked the same day to ensure a high quality product is served to customers.

The catering cycle is divided into six stages:

  1. Purchasing

  2. Receiving

  3. Storing

  4. Issuing

  5. Production

  6. Service

Each area presents different safety hazards for produce – ranging from theft, loss of revenue, contamination and so on.  Check our news page next week to find out how you can protect your venue’s interest and fulfil your responsibilities as food safety supervisor.